The Inspiration For “Molly Watkins”

I’d been writing a lot of “serious” stuff when the inspiration for The Molly Watkins Chronicles hit me from out of the blue. Instantly I knew that I had to write about her.

On August 17, 2011…we lost our beautiful yellow lab, Molly Mae Watkins. She was a ripe eleven years old and full of personality. My children- as well as myself- were devastated. At the time, I pushed my grief to the back of my mind and carried on- through the days, weeks, holidays, etc.

Then one day…I thought about her. I realized that I could make myself feel better if I put pen to paper (okay, words on computer) and expressed my feelings by telling stories about Molly- if she had been a human.

Molly had spunk! She didn’t care if the other three dogs wanted her treat or if they wanted to be in her “spot”. Her disposition was always good; a free spirit. Of course, she was adamant about getting that treat in the first place:) She’d bark to remind you to toss her a bone or to get her a fresh bowl of water. . She didn’t care for car rides. Simple, basic things made her happy, like having her ears scratched or chasing a ball.

We miss Molly a lot. But at least I can revisit some of her “dog days” by creating a character that reminds me of the joy she brought to our lives in those eleven short years:)

Molly Watkins is a series of steampunk novellas and the main character, Molly Watkins, will have some fun adventures- just like my Molly did.

I miss you, Molly Watkins!

One Response

  1. We loved and lost a yellow dog too. So sorry!

Leave a Reply

