Cherry Cheesecake – Free Valentine Day Short Story

I wrote this short story (1250 words) for a contest going on at http://thewritepractice.com/show-off-contest/. (Contest deadline is Feb.10 for those interested in submitting an entry with a Love them- for Valentine’s Day, of course.

My entry is available for a free read at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/131273 , along with 3 other free reads. All the short stories were contest submissions.

I have recently begun to enter writing contests. The reason- because I’ve learned that peer reviews from other contestants and readers who frequent the sight- are priceless. Most are kind in their criticisms (Yes, it is possible to be kind while telling the author that they really need improvement!). I have received some insights that I would not have gotten otherwise. My writing has improved since I’ve added contest entries to my weekly work assignments. Of course I’m still plugging away on a longer novel (Hannah’s Storm) and my novella Molly Watkins Chronicles (steampunk fiction). Molly will be a series and I’m very excited about getting to know her better by writing about her- but that’s beside the point…

I wonder if anyone else has found that writing for contest entries has improved their writing? Please let me know…

P.S.- Yes, I actually won a contest recently over at Miss Snark’s Blog http://misssnarksfirstvictim.blogspot.com/2012/01/january-secret-agent-11.html , in case you were wondering:)

5 Responses

  1. Hi Stacey – I read your winning entry in the SA contest and loved it. Congrats! I’ve never read any steampunk, but I will be on the lookout for Molly Watkins! I was entry #44 in the contest. I seem to have developed an email checking compulsion waiting for a response from the SA. Did you get any acknowledgment of the chapters you sent? Best of luck to you! elizabethandsam@aol.com

    • Thanks Miss Betsy:) No, I haven’t heard anything yet…I am so impatient, lol. Congrats on #44! (Let me know when you hear something, I keep my fingers crossed for you, too). I liked the concept of Steampunk in that things were powered by steam and I figured I could become creative. (I do admit my work on Molly isn’t exactly hardcore Steampunk, but I had a lot of fun writing it) Also, there is not a lot out there for Steampunk, so maybe I’ll get lucky and there will be room for Molly someplace. -Let’s hope we hear good news soon:) -Stacey

  2. Hi Stacey- I just read “Cherry Cheesecake”. I thought it was really sweet (no pun intended). I’ve always wanted to enter writing competitions but I’ve never been able to make the deadline. Good luck with future contests!

    • Thank you, Kara:) I find I work better with a deadline…the pressure is good for me! If not, I keep polishing until the original story is lost. I just took a tour of your blog Ink and Paper and I really like it!

      • Thanks, I’m glad you liked it 🙂 I polish most of my writing endlessly regardless of a deadline. I’m usually halfway through a second draft when I want to take the story into a second direction, and then another… and then the deadline is tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

