My Grandparents Inspired “Cherry Cheesecake” Valentine Story

Real Valentines

In Love For 70 Years

You know how sometimes you see or hear about something and you think, “Wow, that would make a great story?” My grandparents, who have been married for over 70 years now, would make that kind of story.

From what I understand, their life has not been without hardship. My grandfather was a watchmaker by trade, hitching rides on Boston-bound trains from teeny tiny Brewer, Maine just to attend school. That is a five hour drive by car today!

Money was virtually non-existent. When my grandfather returned to Maine he worked 2 jobs. They went on to have  3 young children by the time they were in their early twenties- poking holes in my Nana’s theory that my Grampa was difficult at times:)

If you were to ask them what their “secret” to a 70 year marriage would be, they would each have a different answer- and they’d probably bicker over which one of them were correct… I think that “passion” may well be one of their “secrets”???

This past week I entered a short story contest with a “Love” theme in honor of Valentine’s Day. I used their undying love as my inspiration. I’m not sure if I will win the contest or not, but writing the story made me happy:) If you’d like to check out my short story contest submission (1250 words) simply click here

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/131273 – it’s free, just download to your Kindle or read on your computer as a PDF file.

There are some other free short stories that are previous contest submissions as well- and they are all free.

Here’s hoping that everyone has a very happy Valentine’s Day!

What kind of emotions, events, or stories inspire you?

Leave a Reply

